Two Cool Things

The camera has arrived.  It’s pretty amazing.  I had the worlds worst sales experience getting it, but I did get a camera, two nice lenses (one a Nikor) and a 2 gig chip in my budget.  When I review the store, I’ll say I got the camera I wanted, at a price I wanted to pay, but their customer service was just abysmal.  Time to let them know.  I did have reinforced to me in this experience that one of the smallest words in the english language is also one of the most powerful.  No.  I didn’t let Mr. High Pressure Sales Guy talk me into the $150 battery or the gawdawful expensive service and warrenty plan.  He was NOT happy, but I am, and that’s what matters to me.  The camera is amazing.  I think I’m going to have a whole bunch of fun with it.

Meanwhile, the other thing that came today was a backup remote fob for the car.   When I got the car a couple of years ago, and I’ve been kinda fretting about it since.  Every time I took the keys on the boat or even just crossing a storm drain walking through a parking lot, I thought about seeing the keys disappear.  Now, I have a backup, and the best part is, it cost about a tenth of what a dealer would have charged.  E-Bay motors.  There’s a place there that sells only remote fobs.  And cheap.  AND they send the instructions for programming it.   Put the key in and take it out and open and close the door and face 147 degrees true (not magnetic) and rub your tummy and pat your head and jump down, turn around, pick a bale of cotton … and the car will let you know if you were successful.  I guess I was, the key fob worked.

So now it’s time to go write my review of the store.  They’re not going to be terribly happy.  I wonder how long it will stay posted.  I’ll link to it later if they leave it up … just like someone was actually reading all this.

–Scene–

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

